Uncle John had a heart attack

I know that these blogs are supposed to be entertaining and teach people something about making an independent film. This might be a bit more serious of a blog, but I have to write what I’m feeling. Two days ago, my Uncle John had a heart attack. Heart disease runs in my family. My grandfather died of a heart attack. One of my uncles died of a heart attack. My dad was having heart problems two years ago. He went to the doctor and they did a bunch of tests, including a stress test. He passed all of them. Because of his family history, they did some type of a dye test, where they put dye in your heart and they can tell if there are blocked arteries. Sure enough, my dad had two arteries that were seriously blocked, and they put in two stents. Since then, he’s been fine. So, Uncle John has always been expecting to have heart problems. He’s only 51 years old, works out, plays softball, and is in great shape. The last few months he hasn’t been feeling great. Two weeks ago, he went to the doctor’s office and told him that he’s been having chest pains. They kept him overnight for tests. He passed them all, including the stress test. He requested the dye test, but was told “no,” that it was too invasive, that they were 99% sure he wouldn’t have a heart attack in the next five years. Two weeks later, he had a heart attack.

I realize horrible things happen everyday, but it kills me that this could have been prevented. So, of course they go in and find out that one of his main arteries was 95% blocked and they put in a stent. (They could have done this two weeks ago.) Now his heart is fine, but he has brain damage. Last night, we weren’t sure if he was going to live, and if he did live, if he’d ever leave the hospital bed. Today he said “Hi Julie” to his wife. So, my family has hope. There’s hope he’ll recover. And even if he can’t ever work again, or play softball, if he can walk and talk, and know who we all are, than we’ll get him back. So, I’ll keep praying and hoping and sending my positive thoughts his way. What does this have to do with making a film you might ask? Nothing. But, we start shooting in a week. The actors arrive tomorrow. I’ve worked for 7 years to get to this point, and for 2 years full-time on raising money for “We Got the Beat,” yet right now, nothing matters but my Uncle John being ok. I have a great crew. We’ll get things done. Somehow the movie seems a lot easier today than it did last week.

Somehow, getting insurance, and renting UHalls, and giving actors per diems doesn’t really stress me out right now. I wish we had a different health care system. I wish we practiced preventative medicine more frequently. I wish doctors listened to their patients and were always thorough. Making a movie – yeah, it’s hard work. It takes a lot of people, a lot of love, a lot of time, and a lot of energy, but it’s not that important today. Today I’m hoping for a miracle.

3 responses to “Uncle John had a heart attack

  1. SORRY TO HEAR THAT UR UNCLE DIED BUT I LOST SOMEONE THAT WAS LIKE MY UNCLE BUT I REALLY MEAN IT. SSSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I’m just now reading this. And it still touched me. Bless you, A.

  3. this is so weird,
    my uncle john just had a heartattack today,
    and i m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

